Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Lok Satta to focus on local issues in municipal elections

The Lok Satta Party today warned that there is the danger of local agenda being eclipsed in municipal elections with general elections to the Assembly and the Lok Sabha taking place soon thereafter.

Mr. Bandaru Ramamohan Rao, Convener, Lok Satta Party’s Telangana State Committee, pointed out in a statement that the State Government is forced to conduct municipal elections three years and a half after they are due only because of the intervention the High Court. It is the civic bodies that attend to most of people’s problems. However, traditional parties are trying to brush aside the local agenda by focusing on State and national issues and rousing passions, Mr. Ramamohana Rao warned.

The Telangana Co-ordination Committee, which met here today, discussed the party’s strategy in municipal elections.

Mr. Ramamohana Rao cautioned people against falling a prey to traditional parties’ propaganda and forgo their right for self-rule. Successive Governments have denied municipalities powers and resources and made people dependent on MLAs and MPs to redress their daily grievances.

The Lok Satta Party has all along fought for treating local governments as the third tier of administration and per capita grant of Rs.1500 so that they can attend to people’s needs. It is also trying to get citizen’s charters issued and implemented. The Lok Satta Party will take this agenda to people during municipal elections. It will also focus on local committees being empowered to restrict liquor consumption, eradicating corruption in municipal contracts and purchases, and association of people in the running of schools and healthcare facilities.

Lok Satta Party national President Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan has named the following as members of the party’s Telangana State Committee: Bandaru Ramamohan Rao (Convener), Nandipet Ravinder, Dr. P. R. Rao, V. Vijayender Reddy and V. Laxman Balaji (Co-conveners), K. Jagan (BC Cell), Jatti Ravi Kumar (SC Cell), G. Raja Reddy, K. Gita Murthy and Ghouse Mohiuddin (official spokespersons), S. Gajanani (Mahila Satta), P. Bhaskara Rao (Treasurer), M. Satyanarayana (office administration), and P. Sivaji Raju and D. Lakshmi (members).

No comments:

Post a Comment