Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Lok Satta forms campaign committee: GHMC polls

The Lok Satta Party has formed a three-member committee to supervise the party’s campaign in the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) elections. Comprising Mr. Katari Srinivasa Rao, Mr.N. Ravinder and Dr. Panduranga Rao, the committee will be in charge of training party candidates, ward-wise manifesto preparation and election campaign in general.

The party also carved out GHMC into four zones and named Presidents and Secretaries to three of them to carry the party’s ‘surajya’ movement to every doorstep. The following are the nominees: West Zone (Malkajigiri, Kutbullapur, Kukatpally, Serilingampalli, Patancheru and Rajendranagar Assembly constituencies) – Mr. J. Krishna Rao – President and Mr. Surender – Secretary, North Zone (Jubilee Hills, Khairatabad, Musheerabad, Amberpet, Sanathnagar and Nampalli) – Mrs. A. Subhashini – President and Mr. M. Jagan – Secretary, and East Zone (Uppal, L.B. Nagar, Malakpet, Secunderabad and Cantonment) – Mr. M. Jaswant Reddy – President and Mr. M. Panduranga Rao – Secretary. The President and the Secretary for the South Zone will be named later.

Talking to the media, party spokesman Katari Srinivasa Rao said the Lok Satta aimed at formation of ward governments so that local problems could be solved at the local level. It would also fight for a per capita grant of Rs.1000 to every division for fulfilling local needs.

Mr. Srinivasa Rao disclosed that the party had finalized candidates for 80 divisions and would announce them soon. Party President Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan would be taking up the electoral campaign from the month-end.

No comments:

Post a Comment