Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Katari Srinivasa Rao Elected President of AP Lok Satta

Mr. Katari Srinivasa Rao has been elected President of the Andhra Pradesh unit of the Lok Satta Party.

The Independent Election Authority which conducted the election by secret ballot on April 5, 6 and 7 declared the result at the end of counting today at the State party headquarters today.

Mr. Srinivasa Rao won by a majority of 702 votes over his rival Mr. Kongara Gangadhara Rao.

The party President is elected by an electoral college comprising about 1800 delegates who in turn are chosen by about 27,400 active, lifetime and executive members of the party.

According to the IEA, 1378 delegates within the State and 26 foreign delegates took part in the voting.

Mr. Srinivasa Rao polled 1044 votes including 14 of foreign delegates. Mr. Gangadhara Rao polled 342 votes including 11 of foreign delegates.

Talking to media, Mr. Srinivasa Rao said it that a man like him belonging to a backward class could get elected to the top position in a party only because of internal democracy. He pledged to live up to people's expectations and strengthen the party during his two-year term and extended his Telugu New Year greetings to all Telugu-speaking people.

Mr. Srinivasa Rao has been associated with the Lok Satta movement and the Lok Satta Party right from their inception. He had served as Secretary of Ranga Reddy unit of the Lok Satta movement and Vice President of the Greater Hyderabad Lok Satta Party unit before becoming General Secretary of the State party unit.

Forty-three-year old Srinivasa Rao, born into a backward class family of Ongole in Prakasam district, graduated from VSR College, Chirala and obtained his Master of Computer Applications degree from Nagarjuna University. He served as Assistant Professor of Computer Science in Chaitanya Bharati Institute of Technology, Hyderabad, from 1998 to 2008.

Mr. Srinivasa Rao has launched many campaigns for improvement of people's living conditions and good governance. He marshaled hundreds of volunteers in the landmark Campaign for Integrated Transport Improvement (CITI) in the twin cities that yielded significant improvements for lakhs of commuters.

Mr. Srinivasa Rao led and coordinated a detailed and intensive voter list verification campaign in Sanatnagar area, covering nearly two lakh voters. The campaign led to major improvements in voter enrolment and verification, transparency and accessibility of electoral rolls, especially via internet. He has has led a multi-pronged fight for justice in the Building Penalization/Regularization Scheme (BPS/BRS).

He has been actively involved in the Surajaya movement of the party which seeks a strong institutional framework for eradicating corruption and empowerment of local governments.

Married to Padmaja, he is father of two sons – Harichandan (12) and Muralikrishna (9).


  1. Congrats!.
    I have been a supporter of Lok Satta financially and otherwise. I am disappointed the way they were responsible indirectly for the present anarchy in the state. I hope that Lok Satta moves away from being a spoiler and responsible for bringing Corrupt Congress party to power by splitting votes of TDP. they should become a responsible party to have arrangement with TDP in next election to get rid of Corrupt Congress Govt. I want to remind you that majority of Lok Satta supporters are from TDP, not congress. Do not let personal animosity of Jaya Prakash Narayan with CBN come in the way of greater good of AP and India and its common people.- Dr. Raghavendra S. Prasad, MD, Dallas, Texas, USA.

    1. what is this ridiculoos vote splitting .... DID TDP won in 1999 elections just because loksatta not contested...

      in 54 bye elections of which LSP contested only in 8 ,no PRP ,CONGRESS BROKEN In to 2 parties still TDP loss deposits... why???

      its duty of chandrababu to promote his party . not JP .. JP sacrifice cheyalsinanta character babu ki ledu............

    2. in noconfidence TDP stand neutral saying there are some values ............ if TDP voted(77) in last minute ,then MIM(7) ,independent nagam also vote against government : 58+77+7+1=143 ..........government loose by 1 vote.......... still chandrababu not vote saying this election about money ,suit case .......... people also thought the same ..against money politics ,,,,,,,,, if chandrababu feels he is not responsible for CONGRESS win , how could he blame loksatta for cong win in 2009.......

    3. if TDP stops contest for loksabha and support for 42 MP BJP CANDIDATES IN AP .. we can get of congress at national level ....... but why does not he support BJP ... his third front in 2009 divide NDA parties ......

      UPA=259 ,NDA -161+ Third front(80) ==241 ...if third front not contest ,BJP easily win 30 extra seats as none of these votes are congress .......

      do you say TDP RESPONSIBLE FOR CONGRESS win ......... if not dont blame loksatta

    4. in ramachandrapuram elections CONG-- 51% .. YSRCP-- 42% .. TDP--4%.. how TDP transferred their votes to congress ........... in all bye elections .. they saved CONGRESS in assembly ,rajyasabha , MLC election......... even in next election vote transfer will be there between cong-tdp .. why should LSP sacrifice for that.. tdp issued whip not to vote against congress what is it

    5. TDP will not win even 70 seats this time ........ let us stop voting to TDP and strengthen LOKSATTA in assembly..TDP just walk outs ..waste to elect thim as wont win anyway ......... loksatta meeda abhimaanam to prajalu vote vestunnaru -----that is democracy ..

      ee dikku leka okasaari congress ki marosari TDP kivote vestunnaru.. that is slavery ........what we need slavery or democracy.... it was people who defeat TDP in2004..

  2. Please sign in for the cause on Face Book.

    "We belong to one caste - the caste of humanity"
    Posted by Raghavendra Sudnagunta Prasad Mar 18

  3. Why the hell are you talking about "backward caste " again ? Do you want to become like other stupid parties . Please stop this caste based politics !!!!!!!!!

  4. Congrats Mr.Srinivas. I will appreciate your efforts toward LSP. But please put forward your aggressiveness toward campaigning. All the best for 2014...Go for it...

  5. congrats mr.katari.srinivasarao garu.
    i hope meru mana party ni inka mundhuku tesukuni veltarani asistu,
    me boyapati.ravibabu,gajuwaka,vsp.

  6. // Why the hell are you talking about "backward caste " again ? Do you want to become like other stupid parties . Please stop this caste based politics !!!!!!!!!// ఇతర PARTIES లో కులాన్ని బట్టి ఇస్తారు ,మా పార్టీ లో అటువంటివి ఉండవు BC ఇన party president అవ్వచ్చు ............ అంటే caste based politics ఆ.. ఏదో విదంగా తిట్టక పోతే మీకు నిద్ర పట్టదా ...... తిక్కగా comments చేయొద్దు........

  7. Would like to discuss about the topic "Castes and Reservations" need "." instead ","