Thursday, August 23, 2012

Surajya movement to reach towns soon : Dr. JP

Leaders of political parties and civil society organizations, meeting here today, formed a steering committee to take forward the non-partisan Surajya movement.

Announcing this at a media conference, Lok Satta Party President Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan said that the primary aim of the movement is dispelling despair and infusing confidence among people on accomplishing certain basic things on which there is a broad consensus. "Ours is a political but non-partisan movement," underlined Dr. JP, adding that nothing can be accomplished by blaming politicians.

Dr. JP said that the movement seeks to enlighten people on their rights and exert pressure on the Government and political parties on ensuring right to service, decentralization of power, corruption free administration and ethical politics through electoral reforms.

The immediate focus is on holding round- table conferences in towns, formation of forums in colleges, training volunteers, publication of literature and reaching at least a crore of people before December 9, Global Anti Corruption Day. The movement was formally launched on August 9, the 70th anniversary of Quit India movement.

Dr. JP said that attempts would be made to build an organization and start a fund to take the movement forward.

The following are members of the Surajya Steering Committee: Messrs Prof. K Nageshwar (MLC), Chennamaneni Rajeshwara Rao (TDP), Chukka Ramaiah (MLC), M. Kodanda Reddy (Congress), Padmanabha Reddy, Solipeta Ramachandra Reddy, Kaki Madhava Rao, K Srinivasa Reddy (IJU), D. Somasundar (APUWJ), Chelikani Rao, Ramakrishnam Raju (NAPM), TL Narasimha Rao (Lok Satta), S. S. Rajamouli, Tammareddy Bharadwaja, K Padmanabhaiah, D. V. V. S. Varma, Lakshman Reddy, Mrs. G Pratibha Rao, Mrs. Satyavaani, Mazer Hussain, Karthik Chandra, Ms Padma Bhupati Raju and Dr Jayaprakash Narayan (Convenor).

Mr. K. Ramachandra Murthy (HMTV) and Mr. Telakapalli Ravi are among advisors.

No comments:

Post a Comment