Friday, March 19, 2010

Lok Satta contesting Bengaluru Corporation elections

The Lok Satta Party is contesting five of the 198 seats in the Bengaluru Municipal Corporation elections taking place on March 28.

It may be recalled that the Lok Satta party started its units in five States including Karnataka last year.

Talking to the media, party spokespersons Katari Srinivasa Rao and V. Laxman Balaji said here today that the party had selected highly educated persons with a track record of social service as its candidates.

The following are the divisions and the candidates contesting from them:

Your browser may not support display of this image. Vasantnagara: S. A. N. Ramakant (A mining engineer by profession, he has served to make Bengaluru a clean city)

Aramaninagara: Dr. Meenakshi Bharat (A gynecologist by profession, she has worked to rid electoral rolls of mistakes).

Rajarajeswari Nagar: Dr. Sanakara Prasad (An M. Tech from Khargapur IIT, he implemented an e-governance project in a Karnataka panchayat for the first time).

Mankenahalli: Prakash Balwade (A TV and stage artiste, he earned a national award for a Kannada serial)

Jayamahal: Dr. Balamani (A psychiatrist, she takes an active role in Red Cross social activities)

The party spokespersons said that the Lok Satta is contesting the corporation elections on the plank of ward governments.

1 comment:

  1. Good Luck to all the contestants. I wish they all would win the election and serve the people.