Monday, December 3, 2012

Surajya Movement enlists all-party support

The non-partisan Surajaya Movement has enlisted the support of most of the parties in the State for its demands.

It may be recalled that the Steering Committee of the Surajya Movement launched a campaign all over the State from August 9, Quit India Day, seeking fulfillment of certain core demands.

The demands include institution of a strong Lokayukta to combat corruption, enactment of citizen's charter, devolution of resources on local governments and provision of quality education and healthcare to all.

In continuation of the movement, some of the Steering Committee members led by Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan, Convener of the Surajya Movement, are undertaking a three-day Jana Chaitanya Deeksha from December 5.

Today, the Steering Committee members – Messrs Chennamaneni Rajeswara Rao, K. Padmanabhaih, Kaki Madhava Rao, Chelikani Rao, Ramakrishnam Raju, K. Srinivasa Reddy, T. L. Narasimha Rao and D. V. V. S. Varma – and deeksha coordinator Katari Srinivasa Rao called on state leaders of the Congress, TDP, YSR CP, TRS, CPI, BJP seeking their support for the demands. Besides expressing solidarity with the demands, some agreed to take part in the deeksha also. They will be calling on other party leaders tomorrow.

State Congress President Botsa Satyanarayana extended his support in principle to the demands. CPI State Secretary K. Narayana said his party endorsed the movement's demands and offered his party's participation in the deeksha. TDP leader Kala Venkata Rao, YSR CP honorary President Y. S. Vijayalakshmi, TRS President K.Chandrasekhara Rao and BJP state President G.Kishan Reddy expressed their solidarity with the movement.

No comments:

Post a Comment