Friday, July 25, 2014

స్కూలు బస్సు దుర్ఘటనకు మూలమైన బడి చదువుల తీరుపై లోక్ సత్తా సర్వే

Loksatta to survey failure of Govt. education system

In the wake of the ghastly accident at Masaipet railway level crossing in Medak district on July 24, the Loksatta Party will be launching a survey to ascertain the magnitude of the failure of the Government school education system.

The survey will be undertaken by a team led by party secretary Tummanapalli Srinivas, said Telangana Loksatta Party President Bandaru Ramamohan Rao in a media statement here today.

The survey will focus on standards, amenities and the number of students in both Government and private schools at Islampur, Gundreddipalli, Kistapur and Venkataipalli villages to which most of the accident victims belonged and those at Toopran mandal headquarters to which a large number of students commute daily for education.

The party will release its findings in the next one week and exert pressure on the Government to realize its long standing demand of ensuring free, quality education to every child without any discrimination, said Bandaru.

Thursday, July 24, 2014

భద్రత విషయంలో రాజీ వద్దు: జేపీ

Safety brooks no delay: Dr. JP

Expressing his great shock over the death of innocent school children in a ghastly accident at an unmanned level crossing in Medak district today, Loksatta Party national President Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan said such tragedies should be averted at any cost.

In a media statement, Dr. JP said that “in this day and age we must not spare any expenditure to ensure safety. Every intersection should be covered by an overbridge or an underpass and all unmanned level crossings eliminated.”

According to the Railway Budget presented earlier this month, as many11,563 of the 30,348 level crossings in Indian Railways are unmanned. The Railway Minister said that “each unmanned level crossing is being examined in detail and depending on the site condition action will be taken to eliminate it by suitable modality.” Making an allocation of Rs 1,785 crore for road-under-bridges and road-over-bridges, the Railway Minister asked State Governments concerned to speed up their proposals and pass on their share of the cost to the Centre.

Dr. JP said that the Medak level crossing accident should serve as a wakeup call and prod the Union and State Governments to eliminate all unmanned level crossings as early as possible.

The tragedy also highlights the appalling educational infrastructure in the country, said Dr. JP. That poor and middle class families are compelled to send their children to private schools located up to 15 km away from their homes at considerable expense is a sad commentary on the prevailing system. Can’t the Government liberate our kids from risky and long commutes in their quest for the basic right to education, asked Dr. JP.

Dr. JP conveyed his deepest condolences to the families of all the accident victims.
Telangana State Loksatta Party President Bandaru Rammohan Rao, who visited the accident site said that about 6,000 students from neighboring villages attend private schools in Toopran daily.