Tuesday, December 23, 2008

Lok Satta releases first list of Candidates for Assembly poll

The Lok Satta Party today released the first list of 35 candidates who will be contesting the 2009 Assembly elections. The list includes 21 candidates who belong to discriminated sections including women.

Releasing the list, party President Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan told a media meet that active members of the party had chosen the candidates taking into account their competence, leadership qualities and passion for service.

Dr. JP said the Lok Satta welcomed public spirited candidates to contest on behalf of the Lok Sabha since it was the only party which did not evaluate candidates on the basis of their caste or religion and wealth or pedigree. No competent candidate would be denied a ticket or an incompetent one issued a ticket based on his or her caste.

Dr. JP described the coming elections as a battle between those who want to continue the current corrupt political culture and those who are determined to usher in a new political culture. The party had decided to contest all the 294 Assembly and 42 Lok Sabha seats all alone since no other party could muster the courage to declare it would not induce voters with money and/or liquor and not field criminal and corrupt elements as its candidates.

Dr. JP declared that the Lok Satta believes that true social justice is achieved only by providing quality education, health care and training in skills and job opportunities to every one without reference to his her caste or religion. In contrast, the other parties are all trying to exploit caste in the name of social justice so that a select few from their castes could be provided avenues to enrich themselves at the cost of the rest of society.

Pointing out that an overwhelming majority of people were thirsting for change, Dr. JP said he had no doubt that they would stand by ‘dharma’ in the fight against ‘adharma’.

The following are the candidates:

Constituency - Candidate

L. B. Nagar - Yenugu Rama Rao

Serilingampalli - Katari Srinivas Rao

Kuthbullapur - Nandipeta Ravinder

Musheerabad - Rohit Kumar

Jublee Hills - Mrs. Pratibha Rao

Secunderabad - Mrs. Maharani

Khairatabad - Atluri Subhashini

Amadalavalasa - Tammineni Aannam Naidu

Gajapati Nagaram - Eshwar Rao

Vizianagaram - Bhisheti Appa Rao babji

Gajuwaka - Biharilal

Anakapalli - Garimella Narayana

Jaggampeta - Mrs. Kamineni Jayasri

Prathipadu - Venkata Satyaprasad Kanchustambham

Peddapuram - Karanam Venkateshwar Rao

Undi - Gottumukkala Janakirama Raju

Pamarru - Mrs. Udiga Rajamani

Vijayawada East - Koneru Venkatapurna Basaveshwara Rao

Vijayawada Central - Mrs. Jnanamba

Penumaluru - Chennupati Vazir

Giddaluru - M. Bal Ranga Reddy

Markapuram - Chittam Venkat Reddy

Nellore Town - Narra Sridhar

Guduru - Kundurti Venkata Krishnaiah

Palamaneru - Mokati Mallikarjuna

Rajampeta - Jagan Mohan Raj

Anantapur Town - Kondeti Kondaiah

Tungaturti - Srinivasa Rao Puduri

Suryapeta - Karpuram Rajender

Khammam - Raghavulu Samineni

Wyra - Undadi Narender

Paleru - Polisetti Nageshwar Rao

Warangal West - Parcha Kondanda Rama Rao

Chennuru - Mrs. Mekala Saroja

Yella Reddy - Marri Rama Reddy

No comments:

Post a Comment