Saturday, March 21, 2009

Middle classes now in the forefront: Lok Satta releases third list

Most of the candidates contesting the 2009 elections on the Lok Satta Party ticket belong to middle classes who have so far kept off from politics because of their revulsion against the rotten political system.

Disclosing this here today, Lok Satta Party President Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan said that all these candidates have plunged into politics now because the Lok Satta Party has provided them a platform for launching the second freedom movement. Their determination to change the nature of politics has received a boost with the traditional parties revealing their true colors in the current election campaigning.

Mr. Lakshman Balaji, party General Secretary, released the third list of candidates comprising 61 for the Assembly and six for the Lok Sabha. Thirty-eight of the candidates named belong to BCs, Dalits and minorities. Dr. JP's name figures in the list as the candidate for the Kukatpally Assembly seat. Mr. Madapu Srinivasa Rao, a physically challenged man, is contesting the Peddapalli Assembly seat in Karimnagar district.

The party had released the names of 55 candidates to contest the Assembly elections earlier.

Addressing a media conference, Dr. JP said in reply to a question that the party was on course in giving tickets to backward classes. It had pledged to give tickets to BCs in proportion to their population. The party, however, could not field a large number of women or candidates belonging to minorities because of poor response from them. He once again appealed to women and minorities with leadership qualities, integrity and an urge to transform the nature of politics to come forward and avail of the Lok Satta platform. "After all, we can't compel anyone to contest, said Dr. JP.

He also appealed to the many honest and competent citizens with leadership qualities who are still staying away from politics to come forward and accept the burden of leadeship. "The Lok Satta is the right platform for all right-thinking citizens. Come and transform politics and people's lives."

Dr. JP said that that the party had chosen candidates on their merit and not pedigree or money power. "The Lok Satta Party ranks No. 1 in Andhra Pradesh and perhaps in the country in giving representation to the youth and the educated. Most of the candidates are graduates and are either professionals or self-employed."

Dr. JP, who returned to Hyderabad this morning after undertaking election campaign by train from Secunderabad to Nellore, saidt the youth now believed that the Lok Satta can perform a miracle because the people are thirsting for change. The urge is universal in that a 21-year-old man disturbed him last night to plead for a ticket to contest to the Assembly. He had to be told the minimum age for contesting the election is 25 years. A retired neuro surgeon from the U. S., now recuperating from serious illness,, is eager to plunge into elections on behalf of the Lok Satta, provided doctors permit him. "Not to be a part of the Lok Satta Party's historic movement is a sin", he had said.

The Lok Satta Party, he revealed, would be entering into an electoral understanding with a couple of small parties in a day or two. Together, they would field candidates in all the Assembly and the Lok Satta seats.

Told the BJP has objected to a Lok Satta Party candidate using a picture of Mahatma Gandhi in his election campaign, Dr. JP said people the world over honored their national leaders and national flags. "If the Election Commission gives any ruling on the point, we will abide by it. I don't know whether anyone will object even to the singing of the national anthem."

Following are the Lok Satta Party candidates contesting the 2009 Elections to the Assembly and Lok Sabha 21st March 2009

Name Constituency Dist
Jaya Rathod Boath Adilabad
Bhushan Reddy Mudhole Adilabad
D Janardhan Sirpur (T) Adilabad
Sundera Parwatheesam Guntur-2 Guntur
T Satyannarayan Chowdery Repalle Guntur
Manik Prabhu Karwan Hyderabad
Dr Pandu Ranga Rao Malakpet Hyderabad
Inapurapu Srikanth Sharma Sanatnagar Hyderabad
Manddela Ravindra Dharmapuri Karimnagar
Dr M Venkat Reddy Korutla Karimnagar
O Sampath Manthani Karimnagar
Madasu Srinivasa Rao Peddapalli Karimnagar
Puli Pitchaiah Badrachalam Khammam
Bhupati Lavanya Kothagudem Khammam
M Nani Madhira Khammam
Dr M Vijaya Kumar Gannavaram Krishna
M Padma Panyam Kurnool
P Srinivasa Chary Srisailam Kurnool
B Swamulu Alampur Mahaboobnagar
Vadla Srinu Jadcherla Mahaboobnagar
Bandela Ramachandra Reddy Kalwakurthy Mahaboobnagar
S Jayaprakash Naik Kodangal Mahaboobnagar
K Ramakrishna Nagarkarnool Mahaboobnagar
Vitta Praveen Kumar Reddy Wanaparthy Mahaboobnagar
Prabhakar Reddy Dubbaka Medak
Rammohan Rao Gajwel Medak
Karnam Saujanya Medak Medak
Mahesh Sharma Narsapur Medak
Dasugari Satyannarayana Goud Patancheru Medak
Patlolla Madhava Reddy Sangareddy Medak
T Srinivas Siddipet Medak
Subburu Ramesh Alair Nalgonda
Kadiyam Srinivas Reddy Huzurnagar Nalgonda
Polavaram Kalyani Kodada Nalgonda
Vantepaka Yadagiri Nakrekal Nalgonda
M S Mani Venkatagiri Nellore
Cyber Jameel Bhodan Nizamabad
A K Latha Jukkal Nizamabad
Biloji Naik Nizamabad Rural Nizamabad
D Sekhar Nizamabad Urban Nizamabad
A Ramesh Reddy Ongole Prakasham
Pentyala Peddanna Parchuru Prakasham
Mutyala Rajashekhar Ibrahimpatnam Ranga Reddy
Jangaiah Yadav Maheswaram Ranga Reddy
Dr Jayaprakash Narayan Kukatpally Ranga Reddy
T Shivakumar Medchel Ranga Reddy
K Venkatesham Tandur Ranga Reddy
CH Venkatagouri Palakonda (ST) Srikakulam
M Sudhabala Palasa Srikakulam
Telugu Nageswara Rao Narsannapeta Srikakulam
Dr D Mohan Rao Srikakulam Srikakulam
K Gourishankar Cheepurupalli Vijayanagarm
S A Ramohan Bheemili Visakhapatnam
Srini Mahesh Visakhapatnam - North Visakhapatnam
Maheswarapu Gattaiah Bhoopalpally Warangal
P Raji Reddy Janagam Warangal
Gurram Timoty St Ganapur (SC) Warangal
J Ravi Kumar Vardhannapet (SC) Warangal
Thirunahari Seshaiah Warangal East Warangal
Elicherla Prabhudas Gopalapuram West Godavari
Dr Valluri Subbalakshmi Tanuku West Godavari

MP Candidates

Koppula Venateswara Rao Machilipatnam
J Venkateswar Kurnool
V Pentaiah Araku
K Sudheer Reddy Medak
CVL Narasimha Rao Secunderabad
Devineni Kishore Vijayawada


  1. I really admire the way "you selected new people into your party" (not because of money (or) any other thing...but only because of leadership skills).
    This will be a great change in politics
    At the other end "Nobody is succeed as you did".
    Many people don't know about these people as we know you.