Saturday, February 19, 2011

Letter to DGP on Attacks on LSP

The following is the text of representation that Lok Satta team led by Party Working President DVVS Varma submitted to DGP, seeking security cover to Lok Satta Party leaders and activists, immediately arresting all the culprits involved in the widespread attacks and pursuing necessary course of action...

Shri K. Aravinda Rao, IPS
Director General of Police (DGP), Andhra Pradesh
Lakdikapul, Hyderabad.

Sub: Attack on Dr. JP in Assembly - widespread attacks on Lok Satta Party members – need for urgent action, confidence building measures by the police – reg.

Dear Sir,

A heinous physical attack on Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan (Lok Satta Party President and Kukatpally MLA) on the morning of 17th of February, 2011 took place within the hallowed precincts of the Legislative Assembly itself. This was followed by widespread and brazen attacks on the Lok Satta activists in other parts of the State:

  • TRS activists attacked a totally peaceful demonstration that was being conducted against the attack on Dr. JP and in support of democracy and rule-of-law, in Siddipet (near Ambedkar Statue) on 17th February 2011 at around 3 PM. This demonstration-cum-rally was being led by LSP Medak District President Advocate Tummanpalli Srinivas. Several prominent and reputed citizens, Lok Satta members and activists and civil society representatives also took part. Notorious local goons having a history of previous offences repeatedly attacked this peaceful procession and mercilessly beat up T. Srinivas. Lok Satta leaders and members who tried to save Mr. Srinivas too were assaulted and consequently suffered injuries; these injured members included Mr. Nagesh (Siddpet constituency In charge), Mahesh (Siddipet town incharge), Shankaramma, Sharat, Srinivas and Ramachandra.

Some of the attackers were readily identified by everyone present: Mr. ‘Karate’ Krishna, husband of local Councillor Naveena (representing the Ambedkar Nagar and Balaji Nagar areas of Siddipet), Mr. ‘Dolphin’ Murali, and Mr. Nandu, all notorious and having previous record of violent behaviour and breaking the law. The entire assault was captured on video by the television channels present at the scene.

  • On the same day, Lok Satta Party activists were also attacked in Sangareddy (near Gandhi Statue), while they attempting to peacefully demonstrate against the attack on Dr. JP

  • Dozens of Lok Satta Party activists were also attacked in KPHB Colony on the 17th February, (at around 6 PM; at the Gandhi Statue, Road No.1, KPHB Colony) by TRS activists using sticks and stones, resulting in injuries to two volunteers.

  • Lok Satta Party workers were also attacked in broad daylight in Moti Nagar, of Hyderabad.

  • On the 18th of February, Lok Satta Party Ranga Reddy District Incharge Mr. Jangaiah Yadav and his colleagues were attacked in LB Nagar (in front of BSNL Office, Kotapet).

These continuing series of brazen, violent and condemnable physical attacks are threatening the very life and liberty, fundamental and political rights of Lok Satta Party activists. Put together, these incidents are assaults on democracy itself. They are attacks on constitutional and democratic values and freedom of expression. Despite all these blatant provocations, we have appealed to people not to react violently either in word or deed. We now urge you to direct the police to immediately take firm, visible and concrete steps by:

  • Providing/enhancing security cover to Lok Satta Party leaders and activists

  • Immediately arresting all the culprits involved in these widespread attacks and pursing the necessary course of action.

Your timely, vigorous and much-needed response would greatly help reduce the clear-and-present threat to Lok Satta Party activists. It would also surely help strengthen the confidence of the public in the rule-of-law and preserve peace and order in the society.


DVVS Varma
(Working President, Andhra Pradesh Lok Satta Party)

K. Srinivasa Rao
(State General Secretary)

K. Geeta Murty
(Member, State Working Committee)

T. Padma
(State Executive committee)

S. Gajanani
(State Executive committee)

No comments:

Post a Comment