Sunday, February 21, 2021

IDAW - Conference Schedule


DAY 1: 20 February 2021Saturday
Inaugural Ceremony and Keynote Address
9:00 AM - 10:30 AM Livestream
Shri Justice M.N. Venkatachaliah, Former Chief Justice of India

Dr. Duvvuri Subbarao, Former Governor, Reserve Bank of India

Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan, General Secretary, Foundation for Democratic Reforms

Prof. B. Raja Shekhar, Pro Vice-Chancellor, University of Hyderabad

Prof. Rajendra Srivastava, Dean, Indian School of Business
Session 1A: Addressing Challenges of Modern Policing
1. Enhancing the strength of police force and quality of police recruitment and training
2. Reducing the burden on police force and improving professionalism through specialization of functions
3. Institutionalizing community policing
11:00 AM - 1:30 PMChair - Shri K. Padmanabhaiah, Chairman, Administrative Staff College of India

Shri Kamal Kumar, Former Director, SVP National Police Academy

Mr. Raj S. Kohli, Chief Superintendent, Metropolitan Police, London

Smt. Maja Daruwala, Sr. Advisor, Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative

Shri Jacob Punnoose, IPS (Retd.)

Shri Vibhuti Narain Rai, IPS (Retd.)
Session 1B: Addressing Challenges of Modern Policing
1. Improving forensic infrastructure for crime investigation
2. Strengthening police mobility, communications and enhancing computerization in policing functions
3. Minimizing the use of force in crowd control
5:00 PM - 7:30 PMChair - Smt. Aruna Bahuguna, Former Director, SVP National Police Academy

Dr. Vipul Mudgal, Director, Common Cause

Shri Mohit Rao, Journalist

Dr. Gandhi P.C. Kaza, Founder Chairman, Truth Labs

Shri M. Mahender Reddy, Director General of Police, Telangana
DAY 2: 21 February 2021Sunday
Session 2: Strengthening Investigation and Prosecution
1. Strengthening crime investigation - Separating investigation of crimes above a threshold from law and order functions
2. Empowering prosecution to drive the investigation - Increasing the number of prosecutors, establishing independence and competence of prosecution
9:00 AM - 11:00 AMChair - Justice B.S. Chauhan, Chairman, 21st Law Commission of India

Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan, General Secretary, Foundation for Democratic Reforms

Shri C. Anjaneya Reddy, IPS (Retd.)

Shri D. R. Karthikeyan, Former Director, Central Bureau of Investigation

Shri Justice M.L. Tahaliyani, Former Judge, Bombay High Court
Session 3: Criminal Procedural Reforms
1. Implementing recommendations of the ‘Committee on Reforms of Criminal Justice System’ (Malimath Committee)
2. Removing procedural constraints on investigating officers
3. Reforming prisons - processing of under trial prisoners and enhancing prison infrastructure
5:00 PM - 7:00 PMChair - Shri P. S. Ramamohan Rao, IPS (Retd.), Former Governor, Tamil Nadu

Shri G. Kishan Reddy, Minister of State for Home Affairs, Government of India

Dr. Ranbir Singh, Founder and former Vice-Chancellor, NALSAR Hyderabad and NLU Delhi

Dr. MR Ahmed, Former Inspector General of Prisons, Andhra Pradesh
Day 3: 22 February 2021Monday
Conversation on Extraordinary Law7:00 PM - 8:00 PMChair - Prof Kham Khan Suan Hausing, Professor, University of Hyderabad

Prof. Ujjwal Kumar Singh, University of Delhi

Shri Karnam Aravinda Rao, IPS (Retd.)
Day 4: 23 February 2021Tuesday
Conversation on - Weaponization of Fake News: A Big Threat to Democracy?6:00 PM - 7:00 PMModerator - Mr. Abhinandan Sekhri, Co-founder,

Smt. Rema Rajeshwari, IPS

Mr. Carlos Hernández-Echevarría Head of Public Policy & Institutional Development,
Day 5: 24 February 2021Wednesday
Conversation on Women's Safety6:00 PM - 7:00 PMTo be finalised
Day 6: 25 February 2021Thursday
Conversation on Setting up Systems to deal with Cybercrime6:00 PM - 7:00 PMTo be finalised
Day 7: 26 February 2021Friday
Rule of Law & Economic Growth5:30 PM - 7:30 PMChair - Shri R.N. Bhaskar, Senior Business Journalist

Dr. Montek Singh Ahluwalia, Former Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission of India

Dr. Arvind Virmani, Chairman, Foundation for Economic Growth and Welfare

Shri Pradeep S. Mehta, Founder Secretary General, Consumer Unity & Trust Society
Day 8: 27 February 2021Saturday
Session 4: Civil Procedural Reforms
1. Institutionalizing case management in civil courts
2. Mitigating challenges in the functioning of Commercial Courts
3. Updating pecuniary jurisdictions of civil courts
9:00 AM - 11:00 AMChair - Shri N. L. Rajah, Senior Advocate, Madras High Court

Dr. Sudhir Krishnaswamy, Vice-Chancellor, NLSIU, Bengaluru

Smt. Justice Shalini Phansalkar-Joshi,
Former Judge, Bombay High Court

Mr. Hiram E. Chodosh, President, Claremont McKenna College, USA
Session 5: Speedy Justice in Trial Courts
1. Establishing local courts in rural and urban areas
2. Building capacity - Increasing the judge to population ratio and strengthening use of technology and court administration
Clearing arrears in trial courts
4. Reinforcing the authority of the trial courts - contempt of court and perjury provisions
5:00 PM - 7:00 PMChair - Justice G. Raghuram, Director, National Judicial Academy

Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan, General Secretary, Foundation for Democratic Reforms

Shri Justice R. C. Chavan, Vice Chairman, E-Committee of Supreme Court

Shri Atul Kaushik, Chief of Party, Asia Foundation
Day 9: 28 February 2021Sunday
Session 6: Strengthening the Role of Constitutional Courts
1. Clearing pendency in the High Courts
2. Establishing permanent Constitutional Benches
9:00 AM - 11:00 AMChair - Shri Justice Madan B. Lokur, Former Judge, Supreme Court of India

Shri V. Sudhish Pai, Advocate and Author

Shri Alok Prassana Kumar, Co-Founder, Vidhi Legal Policy, Karnataka

Ms. Cathy Catterson, Former Clerk of Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit, USA
Session 7: Judicial Standards and Accountability
1. Creating an All-India Judicial Service
2. Utilising Article 235 effectively to ensure quality of the subordinate judiciary
3. Outlining national judicial standards and accountability mechanisms for the higher judiciary
12:00 PM - 2:00 PMChair - Shri Justice B. N. Srikrishna, Former Judge, Supreme Court of India

Shri Justice Jasti Chelameswar, Former Judge, Supreme Court of India

Dr. G. Mohan Gopal, Former Director, National Judicial Academy

Shri Harish Narasappa, Co-founder Daksh
Rule of Law for the 21st Century
5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Chair - Shri Justice Kurian Joseph, Former Judge, Supreme Court of India

Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan, General Secretary, Foundation for Democratic Reforms

Shri Prithviraj Chavan, Former Chief Minister, Maharashtra

Prof. K.C. Suri, Professor, University of Hyderabad

Prof. Ashwini Chhatre, Associate Professor of Public Policy, Indian School of Business

No comments:

Post a Comment