Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Consensus on amending Anti-corruption law

An all-party meeting convened by the Lok Satta Party today agreed on the need to amend the Prevention of Corruption Act. The participants also agreed on the need to bring elected officials like MLAs under the Act’s purview, constitution of special courts, appointment of special public prosecutors and seizure of properties of the accused pending an inquiry.

It may be recalled that Lok Satta Party President Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan had presented a draft Bill for amending the anti-corruption law to leaders of all legislature parties, the Chief Minister, the Speaker of the Assembly and Chairman of the Legislative Council.

Some of the party leaders who took part in the discussions had reservations about the provision under which the accused have prove their innocence.

The participants said they would offer detailed suggestions after internal consultation in their parties.

The participants included Mr. Katari Srinivasa Rao, Mr. Bhistetty Babji and Mrs. Y. Ramadevi (all Lok Satta), Mr. Talari Manohar (Praja Rajyam), Mr. Chada Venakata Reddy and Mr. Siddi Venkateswaralu (both CPI), Mr. G. Ramulu (CPM), Mr. Niranjan Reddy (TRS) and Mr. Ramachandra Rao (BJP).

Significantly, both the Congress and the TDP did not send their representatives.

No comments:

Post a Comment