Thursday, June 6, 2013

Lok Satta names district in-charges for local body elections

State Lok Satta Party President Katari Srinivasa Rao has appointed the following as district in-charges for the ensuing local body elections:

Srikakulam – Prof. D. Vishnu Murthy
Vizianagaram – Bhisetty Babji
Visakhapatnam & Khammam – P. Ravi Maruth
East Godavari – Sagi Janakirama Raju
West Godavari – Y. D. Rama Rao
Krishna – Dr. K. Pattabhi Ramaaiah
Kurnool & Guntur – J. Irama Murthy
Prakasam –. Allu Siva Ramesh Reddy
Nellore & Chittoor – Narra Sridhar
Anantapuram – K. Omkar
Kadapa – T. Jagannatha Reddy
Ranga Reddy – D. Lakshmi
Nalgonda – P. Bhaskara Rao
Mahabubnagar – Nandipet Ravinder
Warangal, Karimnagar & Medak – Bandaru Ramamohan Rao
Nizamabad – Eeda Chennaiah
Adilabad – M. Satyanarayana.

In a media statement, Mr. Srinivasa Rao charged both the Government and the Opposition with misleading people by portraying local elections as State or national elections in violation of the federal spirit. It amounts to questioning people’s right to self-governance. Local elections should be fought on local issues that affect people’s day-to-day lives since they have little to do with State or national politics.

Party’s agenda

The Lok Satta will fight the local elections with the following agenda:

Devolution of powers and resources on local bodies, provision of safe drinking water and total sanitation for all, management of schools by parents’ committees to ensure quality education, strengthening of health centers, restriction of liquor consumption by women self-help groups, per capita grant of Rs.1500 to enable local bodies to address people’s pressing needs and service guarantee to people.

ST wing President

Mr. Srinivasa Rao also announced the appointment of Dr. Mogili Ravi Babu as President of the party’s ST wing. The 36-year-old dermatologist-cum-cosmetic surgeon, with a track record of service to tribals and other weaker sections, had quit Government service and joined the Lok Satta Party.

No comments:

Post a Comment