Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Ward manifesto is your Bible, Dr. JP tells contestants

Lok Satta Party President Dr. Jayaprakash Narayn told his party contestants in the GHMC elections that he would campaign only for those candidates who approach voters with a ward manifesto.

The Lok Satta Party has conceived ward manifestos which identify the problems of each ward, estimate the likely expenditure and the time frame in which they will be addressed. The Lok Satta is committed to giving powers to people directly and each elected ward committee will get Rs.2 crore to Rs.5 crore (at the rate of Rs.1000 per capita) every year to solve all local problems.

Addressing party candidates who were given ‘B’ forms enabling them to file nominations, Dr. JP said, “I don’t seek lakhs of rupees from you like other parties. All that I need is a manifesto for your division. It serves as the visa for me to enter your division and campaign for you.”

Dr. JP said people were eager change as demonstrated by voters of Kukatpally constituency, which he represents in the Assembly. The Lok Satta’s forte is its agenda as delineated in ward-wise manifestos. “Make it clear to every household and voter that the party is committed to spending Rs.750 crore through ward-level committees elected by people.” There will be a citizen’s charter with time limits for every service, and the citizen will get a compensation of Rs.100 per day for delay in delivering.

The Lok Satta President wanted his party candidates to make it plain to voters that every aspect touching their lives ranging from health and sanitation to drinking water and drainage depended on the people whom they elected in local elections. Since the local elections would not have any impact on who ruled at the State level, the people should vote for a party that would transform their lives.

Dr. JP said that the best system of choosing candidates is open primary elections. But lack of time prevented the party from organizing them. He appealed to disappointed party ticket aspirants to appreciate the situation and work for the party’s success.

Messrs. V. Ramachandraiah, V. Laxman Balaji, G. Raji Reddy, V. Vijayender Reddy and J. Krishna Rao took part in the event.

The party released another list of candidates for 14 more divisions. They are:

Muradnagar – G. Mahender
Tolichowki – B. Lakshmana Rao
Gun Foundry – Anand Goel
Rain Bazar – Mohd. Osman Khan
Old Malakpet – Ambati Ravi
Talab Chamchalam – Shaik Hyder
Kishen Bagh – Mohammed Rafiq
Bansilalpet – D. Ravinder
KPHB Colony – N. Srinivasan
Moosapet – A. Prakasa Rao
Mothinagar – Byreddy Suryanarayana
Fathenagar – G. C. Mahesh
Old Bowenpally- K. Upender Reddy
Kukatpally – Kommu Satteyya

No comments:

Post a Comment