Wednesday, April 9, 2014

People are thirsting for change in Nature of politics: Dr.JP

Loksatta Party national President Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan today asserted that people in urban areas of both Telangana and residuary Andhra Pradesh who are seething with indignation over traditional parties will vote for the Loksatta Party in the upcoming general elections.

Addressing a media conference at which he released the names of candidates contesting for 45 Assembly seats in Telangana, Dr. JP said the party is concentrating on urban areas where it enjoys considerable support. The party will release the list of candidates contesting from residuary Andhra Pradesh on April 12. The party is contesting only from Malkajgiri for the Lok Sabha.

Dr. JP recalled that the movement to transform the nature of politics and cleanse democracy began at Kukatpally in 2009 when he was elected to the Assembly. The democratic revolution manifested subsequently in Delhi and is now about to be repeated in urban areas, especially in Hyderabad.

Dr. JP said that traditional parties have converted politics into business. They sell seats and buy votes, both involving astronomical amounts. They are bent on coming to power by offering temporary sops or monetary inducements or by exploiting loyalties to caste, region, religion and language. The people, he said, are fed up with such tactics of traditional parties.

Dr. JP appealed to voters to reject unequivocally all those who flaunt their money bags or lineage, those who are steeped in corruption or have criminal antecedents and those who offer inducement or seek to divide them on the basis of caste, religion, region and language. They should vote for candidates who will work for a better future for the two States now coming up. He pointed out that the Loksatta Party is fielding educated candidates known for their integrity and commitment to service. A majority of them are young, most of them being in their 20s and 30s. Of the 45 Loksatta candidates 19 are BCs, six SCs, two STs and four women.

Dr. JP said in reply to a question that traditional parties have not responded to the Loksatta initiative for electoral adjustments because they perceive the party as threat to their very existence.

Dr. JP who filed his nomination for the Malkajgiri Lok Sabha seat yesterday said that the Lok Satta has decided to support the NDA in national interest. The country’s economy is in doldrums and polity in disarray. The need of the hour is employment generation and good governance. If a crore of jobs are not created every year for the next ten years, the very survival of India will be doubtful. Against such a backdrop, the BJP and its prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi have been laying emphasis on reviving the economy by focusing on manufacturing and providing corruption-free governance. Although the Loksatta has differences with one or two aspects of the BJP manifesto, it has decided to support it in national interest.

Loksatta Party leaders Katari Srinivasa Rao, Bandaru Ramamohan Rao, Y. D. Rama Rao and Ramachandraiah took part in the media conference.

The following is the list of candidates for the general elections in Telangana:

Lok Satta Party Candidates (Telangana Region)


Constituency / District Sl.No Constituency Name of the Candidate Gender/Age Qualification Community
Malkajigiri 1 Malkajigiri Parliament Dr.Jayaprakash Narayan M IAS, MBBS OC
2 Malkajigiri Dilip Sankarreddy M/32 MBA (Unv.of Chicago) OC
3 Uppal Venkateshwar Reddy Kallu M/39 MBA (London) OC
4 LB Nagar Ramu Dosapati M/41 MBA BC
5 Qutubullapur Shivaji Raju Pothuri M/31 B.Com OC
6 Kukatpalli Katari Srinivasa Rao M/44 MCA BC
7 Cantonment D.Ratnam M SC
8 Medchal Dr.G.R.Lingamurthy M MBBS
Secunderabad 9 Sanathnagar Hymavati Sagi F/39 MS (USA) OC
10 Jubilee Hills B.Sambi Reddy M/35 B.Tech OC
11 Musheerabad P.Rohit Kumar M/40 B.A., L.L.B., (LLM) BC
12 Khairatabad Durga Ramachandra Rao M/41 PG Diploma in Fashion Tech OC
13 Amberpet Metla Jaganmohan M/43 Degree BC
14 Nampalli Kanthimathi F/56 B.Sc., M.B.A., B.Ed. OC
15 Secunderabad Pulla Sunitha Rani F B.Pharm (USA)
Chevella 16 Maheshwaram Devi Prasad Samudrala M/28 Diploma BC
17 Rajendranagar K.Solkar Reddy M/32 MCA OC
18 Serlingampalli Gorthi Srinivas M/47 Intermediate OC
Nizamabad 19 Yella Reddy Dr.Ram REddy Marri M M.B.B.S., L.L.M OC
20 Nizamabad Urban Dodle Shekhar M/40 B.Sc BC
21 Kamareddy Bharthwaja Veda Shree M 9th Class BC
22 Balkonda Ananth Bandari M/31 Intermediate BC
Medak 23 Patancheru Satyanarayana M
24 Siddipet Thummalapally Srinivas M/42 B.A.L.L.B, PG Diploma in IRPM BC
Mahabubnagar 25 Kalwakurthy Nandi Sashidhar Reddy M/39 Diploma in Fashion Design OC
Nalgonda 26 Miryalaguda Marepally Srinivas Reddy M/40 B.A OC
27 Kodad Sathuluri Govinda Rao M/40 B.Com OC
28 Tungaturthy Puduri Srinivasa Rao M/35 B.Sc SC
29 Huzurnagar Krishna Nayak Bhukya M/31 L.L.M ST
Warangal 30 Warangal West Chidara Chandra Shekar M/35 M.Sc OC
31 Warangal East Jagdishwar R Perala M/54 B.Sc BC
32 Vardhannapet Jatti Ravi Kumar M/35 M.A ST
33 Janagaon Varaprasad Rao Yerra M/36 M.C.A BC
34 Bupalapalli Maheshwarapu Gattaiah M/40 L.L.B. BC
Karimnagar 35 Siricilla Kyadaveni Nagaraju M/30 M.B.A. BC
36 Korutla Vasam Bhumanandam M/72 PUC BC
37 Karimnagar Mamindla Sandeep Kumar M/30 SSC BC
38 Husnabad Bollam Ravi M/29 BA BC
Adilabad 39 Bellampalli Dandu Ravinder M/44 M.A., L.L.B SC
40 Chennur Mekala Saroja F/41 SSC SC
41 Macheriyal Sunil Ravikanti M/25 B.Tech OC
Khammam 42 Khammam Ravi Maruth M/50 MA OC
43 Kothagudem K.Anjaneyulu M/40 Advocate BC
Hyderabad 44 Ibrahimpatnam Malla Reddy P
45 Karawan Meesala Gopal Saibaba SC
46 Malakpet Alleni Babu Rao


  1. How many are Telangana people in this list?

    1. Does it still matter?
      I would guess all of these candidates call some town or city in Telangana their home. And apparently all are working to contest and if succesful develop a Telangana constituency.
      If you still want to elect people only if they have their ancestry in Telangana, more than 80% of the candidates may suit that criteria too, but it would be a pity if that was a deciding factor.

  2. Replies
    1. Nonsense. Even your president is from guntoor